New Personal Record on Newport Coast – (6:43 Normalized Power 348 watts 5.11 w/kg)


Yep folks another PR today.  I took 7 seconds off my previous PR of 6:50 from May 31, 2011.  Today I climbed Newport Coast with a time of 6:43.  My gearing was 53 x 24, with 53 x 21 when I stood up.  I stood up twice towards the end of the effort.  For years I have been climbing this hill month after month and never have I had such significant gains in performance.

I am now certain the CVAC sessions are paying off.  I owe a huge thank you to my good friends at Lunar Health and Wellness in Newport Beach.  Not only has my performance improved but the exercise-induced asthma has disappeared!! My heart rate reached 192 bpm on this effort.  In the past when I would come off of a hard effort like this I would cough uncontrollably for several minutes afterwards.  I didn’t cough at all today!  Additionally, my sleep is REALLY deep.  I can’t explain it but it’s very different.

George “Red-Eyed Vireo” sets new Personal Record on Newport Coast 6:43

3 thoughts on “New Personal Record on Newport Coast – (6:43 Normalized Power 348 watts 5.11 w/kg)

  1. Congratulations, George! Now, is this going downhill or uphill? I think I could give you a run for your money, we’ll race- you on your bike and me driving my SUV! Sounds like the CVAC sessions are paying off! Good job.

  2. Pingback: New Personal Record (PR) on Newport Coast Drive – 7:21 | George's Epic Adventures

Leave a comment